Les Ensembles
“Les Ensembles” consist of a proposal for do-it-yourself furniture based on a range of six components made of metal and wooden panels. With this project, Jérôme Dumetz won an Audi Talents Awards in the design section in 2013. les-ensembles.fr


Jérome Dumetz

Designer Craftsman

An Exploreur selection

Since completing his studies in Architecture and the Applied Arts, Jérôme Dumetz has presented his work as a designer-craftsman. Based in Marseille, he designs and produces furniture for private and professional clients. Thanks to his dual approach as designer and manufacturer, he maintains a privileged relationship with materials: he is particularly drawn to wood and steel for their differences and complementarity.

jeromedumetz.com

The project which won him the votes of the ATA Design 2013 jury was a collection of do-it-yourself furniture based on a range of 8 fixtures and wooden panels, bought and cut to size in a large do-it-yourself store. In real terms, just 5 steps: the consumer selects the furniture he wants from a collection on the dedicated website (wall-mounted shelves and boxes, bookcases on legs, low table, pedestal table, frames, table, sideboard, children’s furniture…). He then chooses the dimensions and type of panel, the colours of the fixtures. Once he has completed his order, pre-visualization of his project, his assembly plan and “shopping list” – including the wood cutting details -, he sets off for the store. He has everything he needs to build his furniture.

The project is based on simplicity and esthetic coherence of the fixtures, and belongs to the world of DIY (“Design It Yourself” or “Do It Yourself”). Relying on modularity which is taking on more and more importance in the world of design, this project, modular, interactive and sustainable, offers a new approach by involving the consumer in the creation of his home decoration plans.

Jérôme Dumetz won the votes of the Audi Talents Awards Jury, Contemporary Art and Design 2013, comprised of Ora-ïto, Thierry Marx, René-Jacques Mayer and Xavier Veilhan.

“Everything I ever did resulted from a thought which was instantaneously constructive. I have never had a vision or a shape in my mind. I have no particular style. I have never designed shapes. I made constructions which had shapes” Jean Prouvé.

Rémi Guisset

+33 (0)6 60 89 20 11
remiguisset@lexploreur.com

Jérémy Bailet

+33 (0)6 61 01 71 08
jeremybailet@lexploreur.com

Les Ensembles
« Les Ensembles » est une proposition de mobilier à construire soi-même à partir d’une gamme de six pièces d’assemblage en métal et de panneaux de bois.
Avec ce projet, Jérôme a été lauréat des Audi talents awards section design en 2013.

Jérome Dumetz

Artisan Designer

Une séléction l’exploreur

Après des études en Architecture et en Arts appliqués, Jérôme Dumetz se présente comme artisan-designer. Installé à Marseille, il dessine et fabrique du mobilier pour les particuliers et les professionnels. De sa double approche de designer et fabricant, il entretient une relation privilégiée avec la matière, affectionnant particulièrement le bois et l’acier pour leurs différences et leurs complémentarités.

jeromedumetz.com

Le projet qui lui a valu les suffrages du jury ATA Design 2013 est une collection de mobilier à construire soi-même à partir d’une gamme de 8 connecteurs et de panneaux de bois achetés et découpés dans une grande surface de bricolage. Concrètement, 5 étapes : le consommateur sélectionne sur le site web dédié le mobilier qu’il souhaite dans une collection (étagères et boîtes murales, bibliothèques en pied, table basse, guéridon, encadrement, table, banc, buffet, mobilier pour enfant…). Il choisit ensuite les dimensions et le type de panneau, les coloris des connecteurs. Une fois édités sa commande, la prévisualisation de son projet, son plan de montage et sa « liste de course » – y compris le détail des coupes -, il se rend dans son magasin. Il a enfin toutes les cartes en main pour construire son mobilier.

Le projet repose sur la simplicité et la cohérence esthétique des connecteurs et s’inscrit dans la dynamique du DIY (« Design it Yourself » ou « Do It Yourself »). Reposant sur une modularité qui prend de plus en plus d’importance dans l’univers du design, ce projet de design modulable, interactif et durable propose un nouvel usage en impliquant le consommateur dans la réalisation de ses projets d’aménagement.

Jérôme Dumetz a été élu par le jury Audi talents awards Art contemporain et Design 2013 composé d’Ora-ïto, Thierry Marx, René-Jacques Mayer et Xavier Veilhan.

« Tout ce que j’ai fait a toujours découlé d’une pensée qui était instantanément constructive. Je n’ai jamais eu une vision ou une forme à l’esprit. Je n’ai pas de style. Je n’ai jamais dessiné de formes. J’ai fait des constructions qui avaient des formes. »
Jean Prouvé

Rémi Guisset

+33 (0)6 60 89 20 11
remiguisset@lexploreur.com

Jérémy Bailet

+33 (0)6 61 01 71 08
jeremybailet@lexploreur.com