Bandol, France

Villa on the rocks

327 sq.m – design by Rudy Ricciotti – living accommodation

A real masterpiece of radical architecture, designed by the famous architect Rudy Ricciotti and completed in 2006. This elongated structure is built on four levels which overlap each other, artistically embracing the line of the slope and the shape of the rock on which it stands.

It occupies a commanding position on the commune of Bandol, 2.5 km from the sea and close to several renowned vineyard estates. It offers an excellent sunny outlook facing south and west, and a sweeping view with a glimpse of the sea. Quiet and with nothing on front of it, the property guarantees the utmost privacy, immersed in surrounding nature.

Set in 5,000 sq.m of landscaped grounds, this spacious villa of 327 sq.m is laid out between a spectacular aquarium pool 28 x 2.5 m to the south, and an architectural flight of stairs 57 metres long to the north. It is crowned by a large gallery with natural overhead light. Perspectives and plays of light further emphasize the property’s beauty.

The expanses of glass in the house and pool create light and airy living space. The house is built of bare concrete blocks, local stone, steel, glass and wood, a remarkable blend of materials which echo the local scenery.

The villa is comprised of four floors, three dedicated to living space and one consisting of an entrance hall in the lower part, and a large garage. The main floor is comprised of the reception area with a vast lounge, a dining-room with open kitchen, a bedroom and bathroom. The living area leads out directly to the garden, terrace and pool. The intermediate level consists of a bedroom, shower room, kitchenette, and a dormitory giving onto a terrace and, through transparency, the pool. The lower level offers a bedroom with en-suite bathroom and study, a kitchenette and another bedroom-study with shower room, giving onto a terrace.

The interieur appointments were entrusted to the Marchi Architectes agency, which succeeded in introducing lots of warmth and lightness while adhering to the principles of space, light and transparency. They came up with the idea, for example, of allowing light to filter in through beechwood claustras to provide a soft counterpoint to the concrete and glass. The interior design reiterates the theme of the rock in the guise of wood sculptures on each floor of the villa, incorporating closets, tables, beds, a desk, a TV screen, bathrooms, and mini-kitchens.

The interior decor is comprised of a wonderful collection of modern and iconic designer furnishings (Pierre Paulin, Willy Rizzo, Joe Colombo, Olivier Mourgue…) and tailormade architectural features.

The owners wanted to feel as if they were living in a work of art, which is why they gave the utmost freedom to their star architect, to carry off a radical accomplishment.

For fans of spectacular architecture immersed in nature…

Prix : Price Upon Request

Contact us
Print
Ref :

“All my villas disappear into the bowels of the earth” – Rudy Ricciotti

 

Our selection

FAVORITE OF THE EXPLORER

Rémi Guisset

+33 (0)6 60 89 20 11
remiguisset@lexploreur.com

Jérémy Bailet

+33 (0)6 61 01 71 08
jeremybailet@lexploreur.com

Bandol, France

Villa on the rocks

327 m² – design by Rudy Ricciotti – bien à vivre

Véritable chef d’oeuvre d’architecture radicale, réalisé par le célèbre architecte Rudy Ricciotti et achevé en 2006. Cette structure longiligne s’étend sur quatre niveaux qui s’enchevêtrent, épousant artistiquement la ligne de pente et la forme d’un rocher sur laquelle elle fut construite.

Elle se situe en position dominante sur la commune de Bandol, à 2,5 km de la mer et à proximité de nombreux domaines viticoles de renom. Son exposition au Sud et à l’Ouest est excellente, sa vue est dégagée, avec une échappée mer. Au calme et sans aucun vis-à-vis, elle vous offre la plus grande discrétion en immersion dans la nature environnante.

C’est une spacieuse villa de 327 m² habitables édifiée sur un terrain paysager de 5000 m², conçue autour d’une piscine aquarium spectaculaire de 28m x 2,5m au Sud et un escalier architectural d’une longueur de 57 mètres, au Nord, coiffé d’une grande galerie en éclairage zénithale. Les perspectives et les jeux de lumières soulignent la beauté de cette création.

Les étendues de verre dans la piscine et la maison créent un espace de vie léger et aéré. La maison est construite en béton banché brut, pierre locale, acier, verre et bois, fournissant une combinaison remarquable de matière, qui fait écho au paysage local.

La villa est édifiée en escalier sur quatre niveaux, trois niveaux d’habitation et un niveau accueillant une entrée en partie basse, ainsi qu’un grand garage. Le niveau principal est dédié à la réception, il accueille un vaste séjour, une salle à manger avec cuisine ouverte, une chambre et une salle de bains. L’espace vie se trouve de plein pied sur le jardin, la terrasse et la piscine. Le niveau intermédiaire est composé d’une chambre, une salle d’eau, une kitchenette et un dortoir donnant sur une terrasse et par transparence sur la piscine. Le niveau inférieur abrite une chambre avec salle de bain et bureau, une kitchenette et une autre chambre-bureau avec salle d’eau donnant sur une terrasse.

L’aménagement intérieur a été confié à l’agence Marchi Architectes, qui a su apporter beaucoup de légèreté et de chaleur sans dénaturer les principes d’espace, de lumière et de transparence. Ainsi, ils ont eu l’idée de laisser filtrer la lumière à travers des claustras de hêtre, afin de fournir un contrepoint doux au béton et au verre. Le design intérieur reprend le thème du rocher sous forme de sculptures de bois à chaque étage de la villa, intégrants des placards, des tables, des lits, un bureau, un écran télé, des salles de bains, des mini cuisines.

La décoration intérieure est composée d’une belle collection de meubles de design modernes et iconiques (Pierre Paulin, Willy Rizzo, Joe Colombo, Olivier Mourgue…) et d’éléments architecturaux sur mesure.

La volonté des propriétaires était de se sentir vivre dans une oeuvre d’art, c’est ainsi qu’ils ont laissé la plus grande liberté à leur architecte star, afin de réaliser un geste radical.

Pour amoureux d’architecture spectaculaire en immersion…

Prix : 2 600 000 euros

Nous contacter
Print
Ref :

« Toutes mes villas disparaissent dans le ventre de la terre » Rudy Ricciotti

Notre sélection

COUP DE COEUR DE L'EXPLOREUR

Rémi Guisset

+33 (0)6 60 89 20 11
remiguisset@lexploreur.com

Jérémy Bailet

+33 (0)6 61 01 71 08
jeremybailet@lexploreur.com