Saint-Paul-de-Vence, France

Villa Quadra – SOLD

350 sqm  – design by Antonino Cascio – VENDU

Located a few hundred metres from the historic village of Saint-Paul-de-Vence and the Maeght Foundation, this property is the work of architect Antonino Cascio. Set in grounds of 2,710 sqm. laid out on gently sloping terraces facing south amidst oak trees and Aleppo pines, the Villa Quadra is a parallelepiped built of wood, glass and steel, offering living space of 350 sqm.
Decidedly contemporatorary architecture, with a timberframe structure on pilings, for maximum integration into the scenery… The use of wood, metal and glass, with tall trees intermingling with the construction, reinforce this osmosis between nature and architecture.
The house is entered to the north via a metal walkway giving access to the upper floor, dedicated to the night-time area. The entrance hall, which extends onto the mezzanine above the lounge, leads to the four bedrooms and bathrooms.
Prolonged by the terrace, the ground floor is an “open space” in direct contact with the exterior. Different areas are organized within this room of 90 sqm, including a chimney nook, a dining-room next to the kitchen, a reception and living area, both inside and out. This first level also accommodates a 5th bedroom, and direct access to a double garage of 25 sqm. Beneath the roof, the attic of 70 m2, including living space of 21 sqm, is reached by a spiral staircase from the first floor.
The terraced embankments down below the grounds play host to a superb pool with a wooden sundeck and an independent annex of 50 sqm with a bedroom, shower room and kitchenette.
Throughout the property, the doors, stairs, parquet floors and walkways are all made of iroko, thus ensuring a homogeneous whole and creating strong continuity with the outside, enhanced by the presence of a terrace. The Villa Quadra is a model of contemporary architecture and bioclimatic timberframe buildings.
A unique creation, love at first sight for genuine fans of nature and contemporary art.

Prix : 2 600 000 euros

Energetic Performance Diagnosis
89
4
Contact us
Print
Ref :

Antonino Cascio

La Quadra is the work of architect Antonino Cascio, known for his designs in assertively contemporary style, and especially prestigious detached villas that have built his reputation.
For total integration into the site, the solution adopted was to lay a slab floor over a shaft foundation, leaving the root system of the trees intact and creating a timberframe construction, entirely built on-site.
The choice of a timberframe house and unusual layout of the space made it possible to create a contemporary bioclimatic home, blending fully and harmoniously into the scenery.
Hidden to the north behind a screen-wall clad with iroko weatherboarding, the house opens out entirely and precisely to the south, giving onto a wooden terrace supported by pilings.
The gable walls to the east and west, also timberframed, are covered with a colourful limewash with natural ochre-red pigments recalling Mediterranean warmth and the colour of the stones in the grounds.
Sloping in a single direction, the roof is supported by glue-laminated arcs, giving it a slightly concave appearance. Resting on slender metal poles, it extends outwards to the front of the southern facade, creating a kind of awning which protects the terrace from falling leaves or twigs.
Large openings in the roof allow the trees to continue growing upwards, while also providing glimpses of the sky and constantly changing plays of light.

The house is a parellelepiped built of wood, glass and steel. Though manifestly modern, it blends and even melts harmoniously into nature.

The story behind the house began with a table. The “Quaderna” table, a perfect illustration of design typical of the Superstudio, an anti-design Italian group which rebelled against the 1960’s and the excesses of Pop design which had sprung forth everywhere at the time. Antonino Cascio, who fell in love with this table, took inspiration from it to design the Villa QUADRA in 2002.

The terraced embankments below the main grounds play host to a superb swimming pool with an electrolytic salt-treatment system.

In the lower part of the grounds, an annex of 50 sqm, fitted out with a shower room and kitchenette, and built as a prolongation of the drystone walls, melts into the setting thanks to its grass-covered roof. The use of glass and steel recalls the architecture of the main building.

Our selection

FAVORITE OF THE EXPLORER

Rémi Guisset

+33 (0)6 60 89 20 11
remiguisset@lexploreur.com

Jérémy Bailet

+33 (0)6 61 01 71 08
jeremybailet@lexploreur.com

Saint-Paul-de-Vence, France

Villa Quadra – VENDU

350 m2  – design by Antonino Cascio – VENDU

Située à quelques centaines de mètres du village historique de Saint-Paul de Vence et de la Fondation Maeght, cette réalisation est l’œuvre de l’architecte Antonino CASCIO. Édifiée sur une parcelle s’étageant en planches douces vers le sud de 2710 m2, au milieu des chênes et des pins d’Alep, la Villa Quadra est un parallélépipède de bois, de verre et d’acier, développant une superficie de 350 m2 habitables.
Une architecture résolument contemporaine en ossature bois sur pilotis pour une intégration maximale dans le paysage. L’emploi du bois, du métal et du verre, l’interpénétration des arbres et de la construction renforcent l’osmose entre nature et architecture.
L’entrée se fait au nord par une passerelle métallique donnant accès au niveau supérieur de la maison, dévolu à la partie nuit. Le hall d’entrée qui se prolonge en mezzanine sur le séjour, sert de dégagement aux quatre chambres et aux salles de bains.
Le rez-de-chaussée prolongé par la terrasse est une « pièce unique » en relation directe avec l’extérieur. Différents espaces sont aménagés dans cette pièce d’une surface de 90 m2, un coin cheminée, une salle à manger accolée à la cuisine, un espace de réception et de vie, tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur. Ce premier niveau comporte également, une cinquième chambre ainsi qu’un accès direct à un garage de 25 m2 pour deux véhicules. Sous le toit, des combles de 70 m2 dont 21 m2  habitables sont accessibles par un escalier en colimaçon au premier niveau.
Les restanques en contrebas de la parcelle accueillent une superbe piscine avec terrasse en bois et une annexe indépendante de 50m2 avec une chambre, une salle d’eau et une kitchenette.
Dans toute la maison, les portes, les escaliers, les parquets et coursives sont réalisés en iroko, ce qui confère une homogénéité à l’ensemble et établis une forte continuité avec l’extérieur marqué par la présence de la terrasse. La Quadra est un modèle d’architecture contemporaine et des constructions à structure bois bioclimatique.
Une création unique, « coup de cœur » pour d’authentiques amateurs de nature et d’art contemporain.

Prix : 2 600 000 euros

Diagnostic de performance énergetique
89
4
Nous contacter
Print
Ref :

Antonino Cascio

La Quadra est l’oeuvre de l’architecte Antonino Cascio connu pour ses réalisations résolument contemporaines notamment les villas individuelles de prestige qui ont fait sa renommée.
Pour une intégration totale au site la solution adoptée consista à couler une dalle sur puits de fondation, laissant intact le système racinaire des arbres et dresser une construction en ossature bois entièrement réalisée sur place.
Le choix d’une maison à ossature bois et un agencement inhabituel de l’espace ont ainsi permis de créer une habitation contemporaine « bioclimatique » complètement insérée dans le paysage.
La maison se cache au Nord derrière un mur-écran revêtu d’un bardage en iroko et s’ouvre pleinement et précisément au Sud sur une terrasse en bois qui repose sur des pilotis.
Les pignons Est et Ouest, également en ossature bois, sont couverts d’un enduit à la chaux colorée aux pigments naturels ocre rouge qui rappelle la couleur des pierres du terrain et la chaleur méditerranéenne.
La toiture à simple versant est supportée par des arcs en lamellé-collé lui donnant un mouvement légèrement concave.
Cette toiture se prolonge, soutenue par de fins poteaux métalliques, en avant de la façade sud pour former un auvent protecteur contre la chute éventuelle de feuilles et de branches.
De larges trouées dans le toit, permettant le passage des arbres et génèrent des échappées visuelles vers le ciel, offrant d’inconstants jeux de lumière.

La maison est un parallélépipède de bois de verre et d’acier, bien qu’ostensiblement moderne, elle s’intègre et se confond parfaitement avec la nature.

L’histoire de la maison commence par une table. La table « Quaderna », illustration parfaite du design caractéristique de Superstudio, groupe italien anti-design qui se révolte contre les années 60 et les excès du Pop design qui jaillissait de toute part à cette époque. Antonio Cascio, amoureux du design de cette table s’en est inspiré pour concevoir la QUADRA en 2002.

Les restanques en contrebas de la parcelle accueillent une superbe piscine avec traitement par électrolyse au sel.

En partie basse du terrain, une annexe avec salle d’eau et kitchenette aménagée d’une surface de 50 m2, construit dans le prolongement des murs en pierres sèches, se fond dans le paysage par son toit végétalisé. L’utilisation du bois du verre et de l’acier rappelle l’architecture de la construction principale.

Notre sélection

COUP DE COEUR DE L'EXPLOREUR

Rémi Guisset

+33 (0)6 60 89 20 11
remiguisset@lexploreur.com

Jérémy Bailet

+33 (0)6 61 01 71 08
jeremybailet@lexploreur.com